The Strange Two

glad tidings to the strangers

Safflower and Shea Cream: Perfect winter pick-me-up for your skin

20140112-175544.jpg

My skin is loving this Safflower and Shea Cream which I made using Back to the Ranch‘s recipe. It leaves skin feeling silky and despite being made of oils, your skin is not left looking shiny or feeling greasy.

The cream is perfect for the colder seasons as the constant change between the ice cold air outside and the heater on full-blast inside, can leave skin horribly dry. I have acne and have not had any break-outs since using this, so yippee! It’s also kept my eczema at bay, anyone who has eczema knows how difficult it is to keep your skin looking healthy during winter.

This recipe was originally posted by Back to the Ranch and I’m just going to reblog the ingredients and instructions sections below because I won’t be able to explain it as well as her. But before that are some tips that I picked up from my go, which you might find helpful.

20140112-180952.jpg

When you’re melting the Shea Butter and Coconut Oil make sure you mix it every so often. You’ll find that the mix at the bottom melts quickly but the mix at the top is difficult to melt. Stirring the mixture and pushing down the solid chunks floating at the top helps to melt it quicker.

I also put Shea Butter in my makeshift double boiler first and then added the coconut oil a few minutes later. I found the Shea Butter takes longer to melt so it’s better to just leave it in alone for it to melt down a little.

And yes, I know, at this stage it doesn’t look very appealing but it’ll all be worth it!

20140112-181636.jpg

I chose to leave my oil mix in the freezer as I can be quite impatient and wanted to see the end result quick. If you choose to be impatient with me then make sure you take the mixture out at 30 minute intervals to just stir gently. This will help avoid the oil freezing on to the edge of your bowl/container and helps to make the consistency even throughout the mixture. I wish someone told me that because I ended up having half of my mixture frozen onto the glass and the other half as a thick liquid inside.

If that ends up happening to you don’t worry. Just scoop out the mixture and scrape out the frozen bits into another bowl, leave it outside for about 20 minutes and you can start whipping away. It doesn’t matter if a small part of the mixture is still frozen as it’ll soon warm up as you whip it.

I also chose to put my essential oil in once the mixture was half-way whipped. I just found it easier to ensure that it was evenly distributed into my almost-there cream. Also, if you’re going to add in your essential oil using a pipette, be careful! I had a Lenny moment and ended up squirting a whole lot in, but I’m sure it’s within the 20 drop limit.

20140112-182808.jpg

(All of the below is from Back to the Ranch’s original post on how to make this cream!)

Prep Time: 2 hours, 30 minutes

Cook Time: 30 minutes

Total Time: 3 hours

Yield: 5 4oz. glass jars or 2-3 8oz. jars of body cream

Ingredients
1 cup Shea Butter
½ cup Coconut Oil
½ cup Safflower Oil
20-30 drops of Essential Oil (Orange, Lavender, Geranium or Grapefruit would be nice)

Directions
1. Gently melt the Shea butter and coconut oil in a double boiler.
2. Using caution, remove from heat and pour oil blend into a mixing bowl. Add the Safflower oil and stir gently.
3. Place mixing bowl in refrigerator or freezer until the oil blend begins to solidify. The consistency you’re looking for is soft and smushy but not runny. This could take 30 mins – 2 hours.
4. When the oil blend has reached the desired consistency, remove the mixing bowl from cold storage and add your essential oils
5. Using a stand mixer (or hand mixer) with wire whisk attachment, whip it. Whip it good for 5-8 minutes on medium speed, stopping at two minute intervals to scrape the bowl.
6. Using a wooden spoon or spatula, scoop your frosting like mixture into glass jars.
Jars will keep in cool area for about 6 months

Your thoughts...

Information

This entry was posted on January 19, 2014 by in Homestead and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
